Biography & Awards

Daniel C. Ludois

Assistant Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Dugald C. Jackson Faculty Scholar

Daniel Ludois received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Wisconsin–Madison in 2012 and B.S. in Physics from Bradley University in 2006. Dr. Ludois currently serves as assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering in UW–Madison’s College of Engineering, associate director of the internationally renowned Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium (WEMPEC), and is an affiliate of the Wisconsin Energy Institute.

Dr. Ludois’s research focus has been on broadening the horizons of capacitive coupling via new dielectric materials and high frequency power electronics. Applications include compact wireless power transfer for mobile and rotating equipment, brushless electric machine bearing current mitigation, electrostatic (e-field) machinery, and dual energy cores for integrated inductor-capacitors.

Dr. Ludois’s efforts in electrostatic machinery earned him national recognition via a 2015 National Science Foundation CAREER Award and a 2017 Moore Inventor Fellowship.  This high-risk-high-reward work focuses on the removal of steel, copper, permanent magnets in electric machines, transitioning entirely to plastic and aluminum for lower cost and ease of manufacturing.  Dr. Ludois has published >40 papers and has 16 issued and pending patents collectively.  He currently teaches ECE 411 “Introduction to Electric Drives” and ECE 711 “Dynamics and Control of AC Drives” and advises 6 Ph.D. students.

Dr. Ludois is also cofounder and chief science officer of C-Motive Technologies, a start-up business dedicated to producing innovative, energy and cost-efficient electrostatic motors.



Moore Inventor Fellow – $825k  (2017)

Dugald C. Jackson Faculty Scholar (2017)

Midwest Energy News 40 Under 40 (2016)

Gerald Holdridge Teaching Excellence Award (2016)

NSF CAREER Award – $500k (2015)

Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF) Innovation Award (2012)

Wisconsin Governor’s Business Plan Competition, 2nd place advanced manufacturing track (2012)

Graduate School

Poster Presentation Award, IEEE Energy Conversion Congress & Exposition (ECCE) (2011)

2nd Place “Distingusished Student Humanitarian” IEEE President’s Change the World Competition (2011)

Grainger Power Engineering Fellow (2010)

Grand Prize – Nelson Institute Climate Leadership Challenge (2010)

Group’s Students

Andy Schroedermeier, Grainger Power Engineering Fellow (2018)

Andy Schroedermeier, Poster Presentation Award at IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference (APEC) (2018)

Ryan Knippel, Grainger Power Engineering Fellow (2017)

Jiejian Dai, Skyler Hagen, Oral session student winners IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference (APEC) (2017)

Baoyun Ge, Aditya Ghule, 3rd place student demo award IEEE Energy Conversion Congress & Expostion (ECCE) (2016)

Baoyun Ge, Oral session student winner IEEE Energy Conversion Congress & Expostion (ECCE) (2015)

Adam Shea, Oral session student winner IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference (APEC) (2014)